The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) has announced the redeployment of more than 76 of its senior officers nationwide, including 36 Air Vice Marshals (AVMs).

The announcement which was contained in a statement by the Director of Public Relations and Information, Nigerian Air Force, Air Commodore Ibikunle Daramola, indicates that 40 Air Commodores including some branch chiefs, Air Officers Commanding (AOCs), Commandants of Tri-Service institutions, directors and commanders were affected by the new postings.

Branch Chiefs affected by the redeployment include, Air Vice Marshal Oladayo Amao, the former chief of training and operations headquarters now appointed as the Chief of Policy and Plans (COPP); Air Vice Marshal James Gwani, the erstwhile AOC special operations command, now appointed as the new CTOP.

Air Vice Marshal Musibau Olatunji is now the new Chief of Aircraft Engineering (CAcE), while Air Vice Marshal Mohammed Idris is appointed as the Chief of Administration (COA) Nigerian Air Force Headquarters.

Air Vice Marshal Abubakar Liman, the erstwhile Commandant of the Armed Forces Resettlement Centre (AFRC), Oshodi, has now been appointed the Commandant Armed Forces Command and Staff College (AFCSC), Jaji; Air Vice Marshal Kingsley Lar, the former COA HQ NAF, has been appointed as the Commandant of AFRC, Oshodi; while Air Vice Marshal Abdulganiyu Olabisi, the former AOC Logistics Command (LC) is now the Commandant, Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), Kaduna.

The statement disclosed that Air Vice Marshal Olusegun Philip, has been appointed Air Officer Commanding Tactical Air Command, Makurdi; Air Vice Marshal Charles Ohwo, is appointed Air Officer Commanding SOC, Bauchi; Air Vice Marshal Ibukun Ojeyemi, is appointed the AOC Mobility Command ,Yenagoa, Air Vice Marshal Musa Muktar, is the new AOC Air Training Command; while the former Commandant AFCSC, AVM Lawal Alao, is now the AOC LC, Ikeja.

Other senior officers redeployed include Air Vice Marshal Anderson Kassimu who is now the Managing Director NAF Properties Limited; Air Vice Marshal Mohammed Suleiman, appointed as the Chief of Defence Policy and Plans (CDPP), Defence Headquarters (DHQ), Air Vice Marshal Tunde Awoyoola as Chief of Defence Transformation and Innovation, DHQ; Air Vice Marshal Ubrufi Uzezi as Deputy Chief of the Defence Space Administration and Air Vice Marshal Charles Otegbade to the Air Traffic Services Training Centre (ATSTC), Kaduna as Commandant.

Others are, Air Vice Marshal Idi Lubo, now appointed the Director of Policy HQ NAF, Air Vice Marshal Ayoola Jolasinmi, appointed as Director of Operations, Air Vice Marshal Aliyu Pani, appointed the Director of Administration, while Air Commodore Abraham Adole, is appointed the Director of Training, HQ NAF.

Also redeployed is the former Commander 011 Presidential Air Fleet Air Vice Marshal Hassan Abubakar who is now the Chief of Staff (COS) MC, Yenagoa.
Abubakar is to be replaced by Air Commodore Abubakar Abdullahi while Air Commodore Simon Peter is to take over as the Commander 053 NAF Camp, Abuja and Air Commodore Razak Olanrewaju is appointed as the new Commander 651 Bases Services Group, Ikeja.

The appointments and redeployments followed the recent promotion of some senior officers to the next higher ranks as well as the retirement of some senior officers, the statement says.

Meanwhile, the newly appointed and redeployed senior officers are expected to take over their new offices not later than Tuesday, 7 January 2020.