Mr Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo.

Abasifreke Effiong

Finally, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the candidate of the Young Progressives Party, YPP, Mr Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo, as winner of the Ikono/Ini federal constituency election.

INEC had declared the Ikono/Ini federal constituency election inconclusive on the 25th February and scheduled a supplementary election on April 15.

READ: I’ll not marginalise any part of Nigeria – Tinubu

The merged results released by INEC shows that the YPP scored 19,926 votes while the PDP candidate and former Commissioner for Agriculture, Akwa Ibom State, Dr Glory Edet, scored 15,762.

With the final result released by INEC, Mr Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo, is elected and returns to the National Assembly for a second term.