Senator Godswill Akpabio, captured on camera celebrating with jubilant supporters along Ikot Ekpene-Abak road on Monday 27th February. (Credit: Facebook)

Abasifreke Effiong

Senator Godswill Akpabio, the immediate past Minister of Niger Delta Affairs and senate minority leader, has won the Akwa Ibom North West senatorial election.

Senator Akpabio scored 115,401 votes to beat Barr. Emmanuel Enoidem, a former national legal adviser of the Peoples Democratic Party who scored 69,838 votes, according to results announced on Monday 27th February by INEC.

READ: Aspirant withdraws case at Supreme Court against Akwa Ibom APC governorship candidate

The former Governor lost his second term bid to return to senate in 2019 to the incumbent, Senator Chris Ekpenyong, a former deputy governor, after he (Akpabio) defected to the All Progressives Congress.

There was great jubilation across the state capital and communities in the senatorial after INEC declared Akpabio winner of the election.

The Speaker of the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, Mr Aniekan Bassey, and a former two term member of the House of Assembly, Barr Ekong Sampson, have won the Akwa Ibom North East and Akwa Ibom South senatorial elections in that order.
The duo won on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party.

The PDP has won 7 of the 9 federal constituency seats in the State were elections were concluded.

Also, Barr. Patrick Umoh, of the APC has defeated a two term member of the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly and candidate of the PDP, Mr Idongesit Ntekpere, and is returned elected in Ikot Ekpene/Essien Udim/Obot Akara federal constituency.

The APC is also leading in Abak/Etim Ekpo/Ika.

The Young Progressives Party led with a margin of 5000 votes in Ikono/Ini federal constituency where the election was declared inconclusive.