Governor Abdullahi Sule, swearing-in Commissioners in Nasarawa State.

Cecilia Onah, Lafia

Nasarawa State Governor, Abdullahi Sule has sworn in 16 commissioners as members of the State Executive Council.

The state House of Assembly had screened and confirmed 16 out of the 17 nominees sent to the Assembly for confirmation.

During the swearing-in ceremony in Lafia on Monday, Governor Sule urged the new Commissioners to shun corrupt tendencies and key into his administration’s vision of transparency, accountability and rule of law.

He mentioned the names and portfolios of the new Commissioners to include Yakubu Kwanta, Environment and Natural Resources; Aishatu Rufai, Women Affairs; Umar Abubakar Dan’akano, Agriculture; Munirat Abdullahi, Finance; Timothy Kasuwa, Special Duties on Security and Public Matters; Ja’afaru Ango, Youth and Sports Development; Margaret Elayo, Special Duties on Humanitarian Services and NGOs; Bala Mulki, Lands and Urban Development; and John Mamman as Commissioner for Education.

Others are Abubakar Imam Zanwa, Water Resources and Rural Development; Samuel Kafu Emgba, Science and Technology; Aliyu Ahmed Tijjani, Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs; Muhammed Iyimoga, Trade and Investment; Labaran Magaji, Justice; Gaza Gwamna, Health; and Mu’azu Gosho as Commissioner for Works, Housing and Transport.

READ: Plateau: Joy in communities as ASTC cultivates 900 hectares of land for IDPs

“I want to congratulate everyone of you on your well deserved appointments. I also want to urge you all to be dedicated and work hard as this administration cherishes hard work, commitment and loyalty,” Governor Sule added.

While commending the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon Ibrahim Abdullahi and other members of the House for the speedy screening and confirmation of the commissioners, Sule assured residents of the state that his administration will continue to deliver the dividends of democracy to them throughout his tenure as Governor.