Julius Abure.

Cecilia Onah, Lafia

Following the ongoing crisis rocking the Labour Party at the National level, the Nasarawa State chapter of the party has declared a total support for the embattled National Chairman of the Party, Julius Abure.

A post-election crisis recently hit the Labour party when a faction of the party emerged, headed by the Deputy National Chairman of the party (South), Lamidi Apapa, who claimed to have been inaugurated as the Acting National Chairman of the party.

Speaking to newsmen in Lafia on Saturday after the inauguration of new acting executives of the party in the state, the LP State Chairman, Alexander Ombugu, said the state chapter will continue to remain loyal and committed to Abure’s leadership.

He lamented that some officials of the party in the state engaged themselves in anti-party activities during the just concluded 2023 general election, and were suspended as a result of their misdeeds but after due considerations, most of them have been given a second chance to return to the party.

He said, “I have been hearing people talk about Lamidi Apapa, but here in Nasarawa State, we do not know who he is. The Labour party National Chairman that we know and will continue to respect is Julius Abure. He has contributed immensely to the growth of the party and we cannot abandon him at this trying time. We will continue to stand by him at all times.

READ : Nasarawa Governor begins construction of N6.9bn state secretariat complex

“Another reason why we are here today is to lift the suspension we placed on some of our members who were engaged in anti-party activities during the recently conducted elections. Others with cumbersome offences were expelled according to the recommendations of the committee that was set up for that purpose.”

Ombugu, however, inaugurated nine new executives of the party, and charged them to be good ambassadors of the party in their respective Local Government Areas.

Our correspondent reports that those inaugurated include Dr. Bulus Sakks, State Secretary, Hannatu Giwa, State Women Leader, Yakubu Yakwari, Chairman Karu LGA, Paul Audu, Chairman Akwanga LGA and Obadiah Masara, Chairman Keffi LGA.

Others are; Agbo Jonathan, Chairman Obi LGA, James Amedu, Chairman Nasarawa LGA, Ogiri Godwin, Chairman Doma LGA and Silas Dauda as the State’s Organizing Secretary.

The State LP Acting Secretary, Bulus Sakks, who spoke on behalf of the newly sworn-in executives thanked the party leadership for finding them worthy to serve in their various capacities, and promised not to disappoint the party.